3 Reasons Why This Christmas Is Special

Christmas 2020 is here. And with it comes the realization that things are quite different this year. As I’m sure each of you already know.

But you know what? I’m going to ditch the temptation to make this yet another post about how much this Christmas is sure to fail to measure up to previous celebrations.

In fact, I’m going in the exact opposite direction.

And here’s why.

I’m convinced that every situation is exactly what we make of it. Even a holiday season during a pandemic.

We can let this be the worst Christmas ever, or we can turn it into a uniquely positive experience that causes us to reflect on the people and things that matter most.

As for me, I’m choosing the latter.

With that approach to Christmas 2020 in mind, I want to share 3 reasons why this Christmas can be so incredibly special – if we let it.

1. We all have the brand new gift of perspective.

Sure, none of us would’ve chosen a Christmas that includes masks, social distancing, and absent family members. But if there’s one thing 2020 has taught me, it’s that even during the darkest of times, I still have so much to be grateful for.

So many of my friends and family members are healthy and anxiously awaiting our next get-together. 

I’m so incredibly thankful for the folks I love.

I’m also thankful for the gift of life that we get to enjoy.

And yes, I’m thankful for music. Music has been an absolute lifesaver the past few months.
 
All these things give me a sense of perspective that I honestly can’t say I’ve had in the past.
 
2. This Christmas is an opportunity to discover new ways to celebrate with loved ones.

I know, I know, I know. We’d all love to gather the entire family around the table and eat a massive Christmas Eve dinner with wrapped gifts waiting in the wings.

But we can’t.

And so yes, this Christmas has presented us with the challenge of figuring out how to celebrate with our loved ones.

How to maintain contact with the ones we adore.

How to share the joy that’s deep inside each of us – even if we can’t all be in the same room to do it.

I know my family has become significantly more technologically advanced, and I’m thrilled with the results. Some of the improvements in communication we’ve made to adapt to the pandemic will remain with us forever, and for that I’m oh so glad.

After all, while a pandemic won’t always be with us, obstacles to meeting in person might be. And when things don’t go as planned in the future, we’ll be able to use the methods of communication we’ve gained in 2020 to further enhance our most important relationships.

That’s a very good thing.

3. We made it to Christmas 2020.

Seriously.

Think about how bleak things looked back in March. How so many of us were overcome with fear and doubt. And now here we are, about to celebrate Christmas and the end of a very trying year.

We made it, folks. We really did.

I’m so proud of my favorite people who refused to give into that aforementioned fear and doubt.

I’m so happy that we now get to celebrate this holiday season with the knowledge that a vaccine is making the rounds and next year is sure to be more normal than this year.

Surviving times like these is nothing to take lightly. As a society, we’ve done that – and more.

Remember: the best is yet to come, even if we have to endure more bleak days, weeks, and months ahead. Not only can we do it, but I’m absolutely positive that if we choose love and positivity, we will do it.

Closing thoughts

I want to wish each of you a peaceful and joyful Christmas. And if you’ve lost anyone this year, I wish you comfort and closure. I hope reading this post brightens your day just as much as writing it did mine.

Remember the importance of maintaining a positive mindset at all times, and I promise you will get through whatever situation you’re going through.

Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment